Yukon First Nations and Government of Yukon established an Independent Panel, tasked with making recommendations for a Yukon Mineral Development Strategy.

The panel consists of:

Math’ieya Alatini

Math’ieya Alatini’s name might come to mind when you think of innovations and advances in northern governance, renewable energy, and partnerships. She’s a capable and experienced leader, known for trailblazing in her community of Burwash Landing. Her no-nonsense approach allows her to get results in the sectors of mining, economic expansion, and tourism with a focus on community wellness.

Doug Eaton

Doug Eaton obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Alberta in 1971 and a Bachelor of Science degree in Geology from the University of British Columbia in 1980. He has been with Archer, Cathro & Associates (1981) Limited since 1971 and has been a principal of that consulting firm since 1981. He has exceptional knowledge of Yukon geology and has contributed to several important discoveries. Mr. Eaton has served as a director and officer of numerous public companies on the TSX Venture Exchange since the mid-1980s.

Angus Robertson

Angus Robertson has held a number of leadership positions with federal, provincial and territorial governments. He started his career in 1980 with the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs and held a variety of posts in Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Ottawa. He then served the B.C. government in several positions including Assistant Deputy Minister of treaty negotiations with the Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs. Robertson joined the Yukon government’s Executive Council Office in 1997 serving as assistant deputy minister of intergovernmental relations for four years. He was deputy minister of the Department of Economic Development for almost two years and then deputy minister of the Department of Energy, Mines, and Resources for nine years. Robertson holds a bachelor of arts and a master of arts from the University of British Columbia.

The Main Table

The Mining Memorandum of Understanding (MMOU) Main Table provides guidance to the work being undertaken under the MMOU through various working groups . The MMOU Main Table is ultimately responsible for reviewing this work and making joint recommendations to the Yukon First Nations with Final Agreements and the Yukon government.

It is the MMOU Main Table that recommended the establishment of an independent Mineral Development Strategy Panel, a recommendation that was approved by all eleven Yukon First Nations with Final Agreements and the Yukon government. The MMOU Main Table consists of:

Daryn Leas

Daryn has advised several Yukon First Nations on the negotiation and implementation of their land claim and self-government agreements. In addition, he has been involved in the settlement of specific claims, the development of community constitutions and the negotiation of resource transfer agreements.

In addition, Daryn has represented First Nations during their treaty negotiations in the British Columbia Treaty Process and Aboriginal governments in the Northwest Territories with respect to constitutional development and land claim matters.

Daryn is a member of the Tr’ondek Hwech’in First Nation.

Ed van Randen

Ed moved to the Yukon in 1997 to work in Forest Management. He joined Government of Yukon in 2001 and, since then, has held a number of positions, and has been involved with many lands, land use planning, agriculture, forestry, minerals, and oil & gas policy and legislative issues. Ed is currently the Assistant Deputy Minister of Client Services and Partnerships for Energy, Mines & Resources.

He is passionate about people, sustainable resource development, and trying to create communities that are welcoming and inspiring.